Have you ever viewed an Instagram Direct Message with a dotted circle and questioned yourself about what it was?
The Dotted Circle on Instagram is a new feature that was added to the direct messages (DMs) section of the app.
In this article, you’ll know what the dotted circle means on your Instagram DM. You’ll also see how you can enable it while messaging.
What Does The Dotted Circle Mean On My Instagram DM?
The dotted circle is known as Vanish Mode, which is a temporary messaging mode that allows users to send messages that disappear automatically after they have been viewed by the recipient.
When you send a message in Vanish Mode, it will appear as a dotted circle on the recipient’s screen.
This means that the message is only visible when the recipient swipes up on the circle, and it will disappear after the recipient exits the chat window or after the message has been viewed and the chat is closed.
The feature is similar to the messaging feature found in Snapchat. It’s important to note that Vanish Mode only works in one-on-one conversations and not in group chats.
Additionally, Instagram will notify you if the recipient takes a screenshot of a message sent in Vanish Mode.
How To Enable Vanish Mode (Dotted circle) On Instagram
Step 1: Open your Instagram app
Open the Instagram app on your phone.
If you have not already done so, log in to your Instagram account.
Step 2: Go to the Message section
Swipe right from the home screen to access the Direct Message (DM) feature.
Select the person you want to chat with.
Step 3: Enable vanish mode
Swipe up on the chat screen to enable Vanish Mode. Once enabled, you can send disappearing messages that will disappear after the recipient has seen them or when you leave the chat.
The Vanish Mode feature can be useful if you want to have a private conversation that you don’t want to leave any trace of.
However, it’s important to remember that vanishing mode does not prevent the other person from taking a screenshot or recording the conversation. So, always be careful with what you share online.
FAQs on What Is The Dotted Circle On My Instagram DM?
It is also known as Vanish Mode, which is a temporary messaging mode that allows users to send messages that disappear automatically after they have been viewed by the recipient.
The intended recipient of your message gets notified when you enable Vanish mode.